Fine Arts

Communication Studies, Fine Arts, Early Childhood Education,
Education, Humanities, and Philosophy at Collin College

Events Calendar | Box Office | Division Staff | Fine Arts Venues 

Our division consists of the following academic departments 
(click on the links to go directly to a specific department):  
Art, Communication Design, Communication Studies, Dance, Early Childhood Educator,
Education, Humanities, Music, Philosophy, Photography, and Theatre.
Our gallery space, The Art Gallery, exposes students to the works of current 
professional artists and showcases student work in both open and juried student shows.

 

 

Events Calendar

— Thanks to all who attended our Spring 2024 events — 
The calendar of our Fall 2024 events will be posted sometime this Summer. 
Stay tuned for another exciting season of Dance, Music, and Theatre performances.


Unless otherwise indicated all events are at the Collin College Plano Campus.
Click here to download directions and maps.


Have a question?  Please email us at boxoffice@jizandi.net.
Event dates and details are subject to change.


Dates Event Location Time

* Exhibitions at The Art Gallery (Plano Campus, A175) are free and open to all.
Gallery hours: 
Monday–Thursday  9 a.m. - 8 p.m. 
Friday  9 a.m. - 3 p.m.

Box Office

Click here for ticket information, terms and conditions, directions and parking maps, and how to volunteer to usher

Division Staff

Title Name Phone Email  @jizandi.net Office
Dean of Academic Affairs and Workforce Dr. Lupita Murillo Tinnen 972.881.5807 ltinnen A 177
   Assistant to the Dean    Cindy Duffer 972.881.5162 cduffer A 177
Associate Dean – Art, Communication Design, Education, Photography Alexis Bohanna 972.881.5645 abohanna K 102
Associate Dean – Dance, Humanities, Music, Theatre, Communication Studies Dr. David Tercero 972.881.5636 drtercero K 102
   Administrative Assistant    Nicolas Schnitzius 972.881.5106 nschnitzius K 102
Manager, Box Office and Marketing Glenn Trueman 972.516.5076 gtrueman B 230
   Box Office Assistant    Simran Gill 972.881.5611 simranjitgill C 225
Art Gallery Director Anna Fritzel 972.516.5028 afritzel H 219
   Art Gallery Assistant    Claudette Lowery 972.516.5022 clowery A 263
Career Coach Scott Hensley 972.881.5684 shensley J 116
Director, Child Development Barbara Batista 972.881.5945 bbatista B 176
   Assistant Director, Child Development    Paula Braaten 972.881.5938 pbraaten B 176

 


Fine Arts Venues

John Anthony Theatre

Collin College’s state-of-the-art theatre facility is comprised of three separate performance spaces including the 350-seat John Anthony Theatre, the 120-seat Black Box Theatre and the intimate ALT Lab Theatre. The complex also houses three dressing rooms, a theatre box office, a costume vault and construction shop, and a scene and paint shop in addition to numerous acting and directing classroom spaces.  The John Anthony Theatre (JAT) is a traditional proscenium stage with 230 seats on the Orchestra Level and 120 seats on the Balcony Level.  Click here for directions.

Black Box Theatre

The Black Box, like the John Anthony Theatre, is located on the Plano Campus (Spring Creek) in the C-module, near the Atrium.  Click here for directions.

The Dance Studio at Plano Campus

The Dance Studio (Plano Campus room AA146) is a spacious 3,100 square ft. space that boasts mirrors and ballet barres on two walls, a piano, inset stereo speakers, adjustable lighting and a Marley floor.  The studio is equipped with a large screen TV so that technique and choreography classes can engage in lecture discourse to enrich the physical processes of dance studies.  Click here for directions.


The Art Gallery (Plano Campus room A175) mounts shows featuring new and unique works by fine arts faculty and students, professional artists, and arts organizations.  It is a two story, 35x45 sq. foot space, able to host large exhibitions.  By presenting quality, interdisciplinary art exhibitions and events The Art Gallery enhances an understanding of the arts within the college and the community.  Click here for directions.